Where Do We Go From Here?

1 Sep

It’s Over.

Barrack Obama and Joe Biden are the official Democratic candidates for President and Vice President respectively.

Hillary Clinton is the first woman candidate to amass 18 Million votes in the primary. She then officially “released” her delegates from their obligation to vote for her during the DNC Roll Call, so there could be a united front in support of Obama.

Some delegates weren’t happy with that. They didn’t feel they were there representing Hillary, so to speak. They were representing the voters of their state who sent them with a mandate to vote for Hillary because that’s what was called for by their state’s election results.

If you’re a Democrat, you’re supposed to line up like good little kids behind the Obama-Biden ticket to fight the dreaded Repulicans.  If you’re an Independent, you will undoubtedly be faced with the classic problem I have experienced ever since I started voting in 1968: that to vote as an independent means, for all practical purposes, to throw a vote towards the Republican ticket.

So what are our choices?

Do we continue on a “Write-in Hillary” campaign, and risk dividing the Democratic vote to where all we do is throw the election to McCain?

I still think there’s something stinking in the air. It’s all just too pat, thank you very much. The fact is somewhere on a little island, long before all the hoopla started, this election was already determined by a handful of very powerful people. We get to watch the drama play out because that’s how they, the real decision makers, keep us occupied.

One thing I know: I DO NOT want another 4 years of Republican insanity in the White House. What I don’t know at the moment is how to keep that from happening.

I’m going to watch the campaign very closely. If my hunch is right, McCain’s going to start pulling away in the polls. That’s when we let loose with a massive write-in vote campaign for Hillary.  Electing Hillary Clinton could actually deliver a defeating blow to the “power-mongers.”

Get your bumper stickers now.  http://www.zazzle.com/write_in_hillary_bumper_sticker_bumpersticker-128645314247706904

Stay Tuned.  -Deb Adler

©2008 Deborah Adler. All rights reserved.

Bookmark and Share

2 Responses to “Where Do We Go From Here?”

  1. Vicki September 2, 2008 at 10:03 pm #

    I have something to say to so many people, first off, this Country to me is one of the racist country’s on the map, and although I am patriotic and love this country because I was born and raise, I will never leave the race card alone, because that’s what it boils down to. I am a woman, a mother, a daughter, an auntie and friend and most of all I am an African American who, I will admit was excited about Hilary Clinton running for office, and then come Obama who had the same goals as Hilary, so then it’s who do I vote for. I decided that I was voting for either one of them who became the Democratic party because I am represented by both, but that’s not how we as women see it, it’s like because she didn’t when they are now going to vote for McCain because he has a woman for VP, who has no common knowledge of what’s really going on in the World, she is a mother of 5, I really feel for the kids because now she won’t have the time of day for them, if elected, she has a pass that everyone is looking over just because she is a woman, If I am going to vote for a woman, I am going to vote for a woman who is truly fighting for me, not making a name for herself, not just doing it to see how many votes she can get. We as American think with sex and color, not the future. We don’t stop and wonder what the next 4 years is going to be like, going the same way as its been going, we are so worried about “Change” until if we don’t we all are going to be wishing we had it. I know who I am voting for because this past 8 years really sucked, but for those who are voting just because Barack Obama does not look like you, shame on you and you will be Judge when it’s your time. I tell my children all the time, that I want them to be the best of them no matter how people look at you because of the color if your skin, you can not tell me that if Barrack was a white man with the same credentials we would be back and forth, Heck, even most of the Republicans would be on his side, I am blessed that I did not grow up in Slavery, but I have grown up in the World where I have been hated behind closed doors and whipped sliently, at least back then we knew we wasn’t like because of the color of our skin, and now everyone is wearing a mask, and there are African American’s, sadly, who is wearing that same mask, they need to get it together, I didn’t say that, just to launch out, I said that to say this; we need to vote for “Change” not “Continuation.” God Bless!!

  2. Deb September 3, 2008 at 1:05 am #

    I agree with you regarding those who are voting purely along gender or racial lines.

    For myself, there is more to the story here. I am not a stranger to prejudice. My father came from an Orthodox Jewish family who held a funeral for him when he married my mother, a non-Jew. He was disowned by his own people but when he went to buy his first house in the greater Detroit area in the early 50’s, he was told by the realtor, “there’s only 2 communities you people to.”

    As a lesbian who has been out for almost 38 years, I have had a few experiences with people’s judgements as well.

    We can all make that claim from one standpoint or another. The point is, as Ellen DeGeneres said one time, to act towards those who would judge us with compassion. Compassion is the only way to go.

    My favoring Hillary Clinton has to do with her experience. I won’t vote republican because McCain chose a woman VP because the woman’s polical views are vastly different from mine.

    But here my words here. We are all just being entertained. The outcome of this election has already been decided. Go online and research “Zeiggeist” – or just go to http://www.zeiteistmovie.com. Here you will see how a select few in power have manipulated the populace through the ages. If we don’t wake up soon, we will all just be pawns in someone else’s game.

    Whoever wins this election will face serious challenges by well-entrenched lobbies of oil, auto, and other industries who fight change every day because it would cut into their bottom line.

    The technology for alternative energy has been ours to have for decades. Cures for cancer, aids and other catastophic diseases have been squelched by the pharmaceutical companies. It goes on from there….

    We can reclaim a government “of the people, by the people, and for the people” but it will require 100% participation. It will require each of us demanding accountability. That takes more than an armchair quarter-back’s participation. It requires involvement, action, responsibility.

    It’s achievable. Question: Will we?

Leave a Reply

