Napoleon Hill Was Right!

20 Jul

We all have heard the Napoleon Hill statement at some time or another: “What the Mind can Conceive and Believe, It can Achieve.”  I’ve also heard from various network marketing coaches the converse of this, which is “One percent doubt and you’re out!”

Business coach Parisha Taylor has often referred to both these concepts while coaching myself and others in the achievement of our goals.

I’ve been part of several network marketing opportunities over the years. Some of them were legit and some were not. Of the ones that were, that offered a solid compensation plan to its sales force, there were always generous bonuses for High Achievers.

Ever sat in an audience watching other people take the stage to accept an award for top performance and see yourself as somehow separate from them? Or when the company announces a bonus plan for extra achievement over and above the norm – do you find yourself saying “That’s for those guys.” And the unspoken tail-end of that sentence is “That’s not for me.”

I believe analyzing why a person goes to that place in their minds, while might prove a tantalizing exercise to behavioral psychologists, is a futile waste of critical time for the rest of us. After all, if we’re consumed with analysis of the past – that’s where we live. What I’ve learned from Grandmother Parisha is: If you want to change it – change it. Take action in the present. Be at Cause in your life.

Change is a decision.

If we are harboring doubts – even one percent – about a goal, then that one percent begins to aggressively compete for more attention inside the space of our thinking process until it has grown to a formidable opponent that effectively overpowers and shuts down the probability of achieving that goal.

If I don’t think I can do something – guess what? I won’t.

People don’t like to be told that success is a choice. They want to believe that they are somehow the victims of fate or chance or this one or that thing or, well you get the point. In order to achieve our goals we have to be willing to take responsibility. We respond-with-the-ability, as Coach Parisha Taylor says.

I recently had the opportunity to work with this in my efforts to get to a Four Day Walking Prayer/Meditation to Resolve the Gulf Oil Crisis and Healing for the Earth and all her inhabitants.  This is an event that I have participated in for over 10 years.

Without a car, and with some other challenges that we’ll just file under “drama” for the sake of brevity — choices, yes? 🙂 — I kept my focus on getting out there because deep inside me I knew that not getting there was not an option! As the window of opportunity seemed to be narrowing, I kept doing what I needed to do to get there and suddenly things began to fall in place. Money needed. A Ride. It all just came together. Why? Because I never lost sight of the fact that I knew I had to be there. Granted I got there a little late, but really it was just in time.

I held to the knowing that I would get there. No hocus pocus, no superstition. The Universe really does respond when we hold a singular focus of intent. I held my focus on the final outcome and it filled in the details.

Nice work, Creator! 🙂

-Deborah Adler
©2010 Deborah Adler. All rights reserved.

Bookmark and Share

Stumble It!

2 Responses to “Napoleon Hill Was Right!”

  1. The Blogs Rocket July 22, 2010 at 8:02 pm #

    Very nice article, thanks! I’ve subscribed to your RSS feed. Please keep up posting.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Napoleon Hill Was Right! « Deb Adler’s Weblog -- Topsy.com - July 20, 2010

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Dianne , J Jackson. J Jackson said: Napoleon Hill Was Right! « Deb Adler's Weblog http://bit.ly/bkFUfk […]

Leave a Reply

