Why Would I Want to Be Re-Tired?

27 Nov

I was reminded of the issue of aging today by my Spiritual Mentor and Elder Grandmother Parisha from a comment she posted on Facebook. I responded by sharing the memory of how my mother once shared with me (on one of our many “running around doing stuff together and talking” excursions) that she couldn’t relate to being “old.” (She was sixty-something when she made this comment). She then revealed an amazing truth that probably had a lot to do with her girlish looks and child-like wonder. She said that she didn’t think about being old because when she looked at the world she was looking out through the eyes of a twenty-five year old. She was viewing the world through the eyes of her youth!

Although I appreciated that comment when I heard it, and it became one more personal aspect of her that I treasured, I’ve come to really appreciate the wisdom and the impact of her statement now that I have just achieved the “60” mile marker.

I, too, view the world through the eyes of the young girl that I still am in my mind. Oh sure, I’ve accumulated experiences along the way – not all of them pretty – but I’ve also retained a portion of the little kid in me who chuckles when watching ants in the grass, or “ooo’s and ahh’s” at a beautiful sunrise or sunset, or laughs aloud at the daily comics, or cries at a sentimental Disney movie (even the animated films) – well, you get the picture.

Even though I, like my mother, look younger than a lot of people much younger than me, I guess my face has taken on some tell-tale lines because I’ve had customers at work make different comments that I haven’t quite understood, and have had to find a way to process.

I was really feeling good one day because I had accomplished a milestone with regard to my network marketing business. When a guy asked me what I was so happy about I remarked that I had just gotten some great news.

“A new grand kid?” he asked.

My face got all contorted and I had to remember that we’re supposed to be nice to the customers – not revile them for any off-handed remarks. “No,” I replied matter-of-factly, I don’t have any kids.”

What I really wanted to say was, “Why would I want to live vicariously through someone else’s accomplishment?” But I didn’t. I got his order together, smiled and sent him on his way.

I’ve has a few references to “retirement” thrown my way, too. One guy asked me the other day what was I planning for retirement? Why would I plan for retirement? Think about what that really means?

Grandmother Parisha often does an exercise with us to help us better understand the meaning behind the words we use. She breaks them down into their parts and finds the meaning of each.

So the prefix “re-” according to Webster’s means “again.”

Further examination of the prefix “re-“ the online World English Dictionary (at http://dictionary.reference.com/browse/re-) yields this:

“— prefix 1. indicating return to a previous condition, restoration, withdrawal, etc:
2. indicating repetition of an action”

So WHY ON EARTH would I want to be RE-TIRED?

I don’t want to be TIRED to begin with!

Over the past 25 years I’ve participated in some amazing adventures with a core group of people who haven’t bought into the mass mind concepts of aging and what the body and mind “can” or “can’t” do. We’ve studied and worked with concepts of Mind Into Matter by Fred Alan Wolf; The Science of Changing Your Mind as Dr. Joe Dispenza discusses in his book, and many more who have mastered the simple truth that “As We Think, So We Are.”

Our time here on this planet is precious. One thing you do come to realize the further into the adventure you get is how short that time span really is with respect to the totality of the Universe and Infinite Time. We acquire wisdom from experience as we move through life. We need to stay sharp in our seeking and know that “retirement” means to be predisposed to voluntarily atrophying. It’s advanced Death.

Being involved in network marketing, I realize that people with jobs look forward to getting free – the common street use of the term “retirement.” But the real road to freedom is not at the end of a 40-year stint of trading time for money. Real freedom comes from creating wealth independent of the time-exchanged-for-money equation. But that’s another post. 🙂

Here’s the point: If we want to live full and active lives, we need to live full and active lives.

Forget the media blitzes that try to convince us we’re toast by the time we’re twenty. Follow the folks who are setting the bar higher and higher every day. Recently Louise Hay, author of Heal Your Body, declared that the new middle age is “75!”

Who wants to be tired? So why would you want to be re-tired? FORGET IT!

Rekindle the Child Within. Read a book with a three-year old, or better yet watch a Disney movie with them and let yourself laugh and cry aloud. Let their child-like wonder get inside you and then keep it!

Our self-speak is the key to how we function in this life. We become our thoughts. We face daily bombardment of influences from people, situations and information all around us – as well as the dialog within that wants us to believe that we are “less than” or “don’t deserve” or are “too this” or “not enough that.” How we view and process that “data” – as being real or illusionary – will determine the quality of our existence.

So ask yourself: “Do I really want to be re-tired?”

I DON’T!

-Deborah Adler

©2010 Deborah Adler. All rights reserved.

Bookmark and Share

Stumble It!

One Response to “Why Would I Want to Be Re-Tired?”

  1. Dilip December 25, 2010 at 3:30 am #

    Interesting thoughts and a lovely post! Makes one think . I remember the quote “You are as young as you feel”! And I found Louise Hays book very inspiring! Thanks for sharing. Dilip

Leave a Reply

