Mis-take? Re-take!

4 Dec

Not too long ago Grandmother Parisha, my spiritual mentor and Elder with whom I have studied and worked for over 25 years, sent a message out to her network. It included these words:

“Every ugly situation that you find yourself in is nothing more than opportunity and self revelation! Give it a good run and measure your progress from how you made it different this time!”

Grandmother Parisha often breaks words down into their components to demonstrate their meaning in a more revealing way.

For example, “mis-take.”  The prefix “mis-“means “bad” or “wrong” or “unfavorable.”  The noun “take” in this instance refers to an “act or “action.”  So “mistake” represents an unfavorable act or action.

Depending on our upbringing – parents, teachers, and other authoritative influences – we can be so fearful of making mistakes that we become paralyzed by the fear of being “wrong.”

In the learning process, “wrong” is not grounds for execution, yet how many of us experienced ridicule or even punishment for our “mistakes.”  When we realize that life is a journey, that so long as we are breathing and have a pulse we are in “discovery” mode – we come to understand that we are perpetually learning moment to moment.

We build wisdom from experiences gained. Grandmother Parisha teaches the children (as well as the rest of us!) to see the “mis-take” as an opportunity to “re-take.”  In other words, note that what was tried didn’t work, make the appropriate course correction and then press on.

Thomas Edison had over 1,000 “mis-takes” when trying to discover the perfect filament for conducting electricity to produce the first light bulb. Each failure took him closer to his ultimate success because he persevered without judgement of himself or his process.

Grandmother Parisha went on to share in her letter, “Greet your day with the heart and love to meet your challenges and know you have all that will be needed to turn straw into gold!”

When I remember to love myself enough to have compassion for my process as “human,” I give myself the all-important permission to be ‘in process” in my development. I don’t make excuses, neither do I chastise. I learn and move forward.

This frees me up to let go of expectations – of the “should’s” and “supposed to’s” and focus on what is: that I am a magnificent Creation of God-Creator-the Source and that I have everything I need to create the optimum experience.

Knowing this, embracing it and fully integrating it, I can “re-start” my day – or my life – in the next moment – and do it with love.

It’s ours for the choosing. Try it. It works.  -Deborah Adler

©2010 Deborah Adler. All rights reserved.

Bookmark and Share

Stumble It!

One Response to “Mis-take? Re-take!”

  1. miadalbyball December 5, 2010 at 12:33 am #

    Great Deb yes re-takes indeed.

Leave a Reply

