The Power of Self-Speak

10 Dec

I work at the counter of a fast-food restaurant. It gives me the opportunity to practice maintaining a positive mindset amidst a barrage from Mass Mind.

Some of the people know that I am in a network marketing business. “What are you doing here?” they ask. I reply that I’m taking care of my basic expenses while building for my future.

“Oh, that makes sense,” most of them respond. Others just give that skeptical look I’ve seen before – you know, the one that says they don’t really believe anyone can have anything better. Some just look sort of blankly – because they’ve bought the hype throughout their lives that they don’t deserve anything more than a struggle and “wealth” is for some remote part of the population they don’t belong to.

The Christian Bible says, “Consider the lilies of the field, how they grow: they neither toil nor spin; and yet I say to you that even Solomon in all his glory was not arrayed like one of these.” (Sermon on the Mount, Matthew 6:28,  http://www.biblepath.com/beatitudes.html)

Just before that it also says, “Look at the birds of the air, for they neither sow nor reap nor gather into barns; yet your heavenly Father feeds them.” (ibid)

To me that says abundance and beauty are a natural part of our God-Given Heritage as humans on earth. The Earth Mother, in her natural state, is the model of abundance and balance. It’s humans who have screwed with that balance.

So we came from abundance and we have the right to expect abundance. I have heard this reinforced over and over again by Grandmother Pa’Ris’Ha, my spiritual mentor and Elder.

Mass Mind bombards us from every direction every day all day long. It might come from an authority figure we respect as kids; later it comes through the media and other authority figures in our lives. We have to pay attention to whom and what we give power over us.

This morning a guy came in hollering about how we’re supposed to get a snow storm and the next few days are going to be bad…so he was okay for today but the rest of his week was going to suck.

“I love the snow.” I said with a big smile. His face twitched like he wasn’t sure he heard me right.

“All my days are good.” I continued. Then he got this nervous sort of laugh like he realized he heard me right but didn’t believe what I was saying.

“Yep,” I iced the cake with, “Every day’s a good day you wake up to!”

He just managed a half-smile, took his food and left.

That was a minor skirmish. Score: Self-Speak  “1” – Mass Mind “0.”

I wasn’t ugly or argumentative, I just stated my truth with a quiet confidence and a smile – and he couldn’t touch it. That man probably got back into his car thinking I was nuts – but at least he was thinking. I gave him something to challenge Mass Mind’s brain-washing.

Our Self-Speak determines our day, our outlook and attitude – and ultimately our entire existence. I have no doubt that the man in front of the counter this morning had a barrage from TV and Radio Weather reports letting him know that “trouble is coming” and “the forecast is bad for the next few days.”

We have a choice as to whether we accept that as input or not. For me, it’s a constant vigilance and choice to turn aside “negative information assaults.”

Believe me – some days it feels like I’m standing on the shore watching a tsunami come in. But I’ve committed to creating a Mind-Set and Self-Speak that embraces the Gift of Each Day, as I have seen demonstrated by Grandmother Pa’Ris’Ha so many times throughout my years of working with her.

I’ve committed to be the one who determines the quality of my experience.

Sometimes I’ll borrow a saying from one of my favorite inspirational speakers, Zig Ziglar when a customer comes in complaining about their “bad” day.

“I don’t have bad days,” I tell them with a smile. “I may have a bad moment, but I don’t ever let anyone have my entire day.”

They get that quizzical look on their face, manage a half-smile and walk out bag of food in hand. Then there are the ones who walk in glowing, declaring they are “Blessed and Highly Favored” and grateful for the Gift of Another Day. Those are the Keepers!

Score: Self-Speak “2” – Mass Mind “Forfeit.”  Game Over!  🙂

-Deborah Adler

©2010 Deborah Adler. All rights reserved.

Bookmark and Share

Stumble It!

Leave a Reply

