False Evidence Appearing Real

12 Dec

Whatever you fear most has no power – it is your fear that has the power.

-Oprah Winfrey


How often I have heard my Spiritual Mentor and Elder Grandmother Pa’Ris’Ha summarize “F-E-A-R” as:

False

Evidence

Appearing

Real

Most often what I fear is the result of dwelling in the future or past, rather than staying in the present moment. When I spend my time obsessing about a person or situation, then that obsession is what takes me over so that my fear is generated by the obsession rather than the actual person or circumstances.

I have taken part in many Fire Dances, or “Firewalks” as some call them, in which people from varied backgrounds and experiences, myself included, have walked across a bed of hot coals – sometimes several times in the same evening – without getting burned.

I have helped to build many of those fires, tended them and raked them out prior to the Fire Dances. Let me assure you there is nothing illusionary about the heat generated from that very real fire! Nor does one cross by tricking the mind into believing that the coals are “cool moss” or any other lie.

To confront one’s fears requires revealing the truth. The truth is that Fire is Energy. We are Energy. When we become one with the fire, in respect, we walk across it without being burned. One doesn’t always walk their first time either. I didn’t. Walking the Fire is about listening to and trusting the Still Small Voice Within. It is about personal empowerment through resolving our fear. i.e. “to deal with successfully”

So it is in life that our expectations are what “burn” us. We give power to our ignorance – the lack of knowledge – and allow it to rule us. Sometimes that means living in paralysis because our “fear” keeps us from taking action.

I have learned from personal experience the wisdom imparted by Grandmother Pa’Ris’Ha of confronting our fears in order to break free of self-imposed limitations. Whatever or whomever we “fear” – we have to “take it on” in order to resolve it.

I did door-to-door selling for a number of years. Every time I opened a door and said “hello” I was overcoming my fear of rejection. I had some wonderful adventures and met people who shared with me about their businesses and families, their work in the community. I got some grinches, but overall, my life is much richer today for all those I strangers I met and got to know because I didn’t give my fear of walking through the door have power over me.

Today as I work my network marketing business I re-visit that challenge of overcoming the fear of rejection every time I pick up the phone or approach someone. But here’s what I know – if I don’t call them or don’t stick out my hand and say “hello” – I won’t make contact. Contacts lead to presentations. Presentations lead to sales. To get on the score board, I have to get in the game – butterflies or not.

It all goes back to choice.

©2010 Deborah Adler. All rights reserved.

Bookmark and Share

Stumble It!

2 Responses to “False Evidence Appearing Real”

  1. miadalbyball December 12, 2010 at 11:04 pm #

    Choice indeed – I love this one Deb. It also has the added level for parents to be conscious about what they say/do around children. I saw it just yesterday. I mothers fear of water being passed onto the son. Luckily he was having none of that and went out anyway.

    • Deb December 13, 2010 at 10:00 am #

      Awesome!

Leave a Reply

