Reflections on the day after Christmas

26 Dec

Back to work this morning, and the natural question that came across the counter – both ways – was “How was your Christmas?”

Most people smiled and had positive comments. What I found remarkable were the two women – regulars – who came in at different times and each launched into quite a long diatribe about how they really hated Christmas and how hard this one was because of all the presents they had; all the waves of people coming at different times and the resultant cleanup.

“Wow,” I thought. “Really?”

I just sort of got busy getting their order ready. I listened but I didn’t give them any validation. I shared about going to a Seniors’ Home and singing.

When you’re working a register at a restaurant counter you have to maintain a delicate balance of what you can say to people because they’re “regulars” and you get to know them better, and restrictions that fall under the “the customer is always right” clause.

Some days I feel more like a confessional, which I suppose is good from the standpoint that it shows a degree of trust. But then I’ve had total strangers open up and tell me their entire life story at a bus stop. Plus a lot of people seem to think I’m a Nun – so who knows?

But what I really wanted to ask those two ladies was “Did you know that there were kids writing to the Macy’s Santa this year asking for food, and clothes – or jobs for their parents – and you’re complaining because you had so much to clean-up from too many gifts?”

But I just bagged up their food, smiled and wished them a good day.

This evening I was reading a blog post from one of my associates with the Learning Center for Human Development, Lois. She shared about the joys of cleaning up after the Christmas chaos, about the good feeling of bringing things back into order. Loved it! See: AppreciatingLife: Clean Up

I remember many Christmas mornings at my Aunt Grace’s house in Easton, PA. Their little dog, Sally, had a ball tearing through the wrapping paper all over the floor, and we all just sat around after the last present was opened watching this little bundle of fur have the time of her life tunneling under and racing all around the many colored balled up and crumpled sheets of paper. My Uncle Buster would add to her joy by burying her in the sheets just as she emerged up through them! Then when she had finally exhausted herself, we all pitched in to pick up the remnants and the kids went down to the basement to play at the pool table while the adults moved on to helping with the holiday dinner preparations.

Talk about waves of people coming through the door – we had twenty to thirty during the day, all walking through the door at various times throughout the day to recreate the original scene of opening presents and watching Sally go crazy all over again.

Creating our own experience is a practice that has been validated from philosophers, coaches, motivational speakers, successful business people, to Quantum Physicists.

It begins with deciding what we want and then utilizing visualization, journaling, and positive “self-speak” that reinforces the vision.

Like attracts Like. That’s another scientific Principle. What’s been discovered is that it applies to the relationship between how we think, feel and the type and quality of life we live.

Grandmother Pa’Ris’Ha, my spiritual mentor and Elder has said, “The key to open your life is absolute appreciation for everything in your life.”

Oprah Winfrey has said “I know for sure that what we dwell on is who we become.”

Both women reinforce what science is now revealing to us in many ways has been reflected in the old, old adage: “When you look at glass containing water half way up – do you see a glass half empty or half full?”

As long as I look upon life with appreciation, as I have learned by observing Grandmother Pa’Ris’Ha, and open myself to receive by giving of myself, I will see/create a glass that is filling up and overflowing with blessings!

©2010 Deborah Adler. All rights reserved.

Bookmark and Share

Stumble It!

Leave a Reply

