The Wisdom To See

31 Dec

It’s New Year’s Eve in North America and chances are people have been engaged in evaluating the events of 2010 and making their “resolutions” of personal and/or professional change for the coming year.

Oprah Winfrey has said, “I trust that everything happens for a reason, even when we’re not wise enough to see it.”

I believe that when we’re focused on the trees and not the forest is when we can miss the “bigger picture” that we are a part of. I learned many years ago from my spiritual mentor and Elder Grandmother Pa’Ris’Ha to pray for the “Good of the All.” In other words, what I personally want may seem to be in my best interest, at least to my way of thinking, but there is a larger consideration of how that fits into the grander scheme of the Universe and the Good of the All.

It also takes trusting that we are all significant elements in the vast Universe – a view that can get lost sometimes in the day-to-day routine. We are more than our jobs and our other activities. Grandmother Pa’Ris’Ha reminds us often that what we do does not define Who we Are – it simply describes activity. Our jobs are what we do to earn a living, but no job description can hardly cover the Magnificence of being Co-creator with God-Creator-The Source. Who and What we Are functions at a much grander level than just the day-to-day.

Apparent set-backs or “failures” in relation to what we may strive for in terms of goals can often be the result of our perception rather than the actual situation. That’s when it’s extremely helpful to have a reflection – a trusted coach or mentor who can give back an objective picture of our performance and outcome. If we stay in the “small” picture of ourselves, we are going to miss a lot of the joy and fulfillment of life.

If we are all Children of God, we are OF GOD. I’m reminded of a popular saying in the 12-Step programs, “God doesn’t make junk.” So we need to transform “junky” thoughts – especially about our own worthiness and importance and start to think and function as Magnificent Beings. Some call it “taking the high road.”

Grandmother Pa’Ris’Ha reminds us, “You have been chosen by Creator to come here and deliver your message/purpose. To be chosen means you have been trusted and embraced with divine intention.”

Tonight I threw my hat in the ring and uploaded an audition video to become a spokesperson for PlanetLGBT.org. Voting takes place online over the next few days, and the job begins mid-January. We’ll see. Whether or not I get the position, I put myself in the running and I trust the results to a larger picture than I might have in my own narrow view of the moment – a larger picture that holds a vast Universe of Potentiality and my ultimate role in this life.

Free Graphics – MySpace/Xanga/Friendster

(You can visit http://planetlgbt.org/channel/20/contests/ and vote for my video. Thanks!)

©2010 Deborah Adler. All rights reserved.

Bookmark and Share

Stumble It!

Leave a Reply

