Life’s Defining Moments

19 Jan

“Whatever relationships you have attracted in your life at this moment, are precisely the ones you need in your life at this moment. There is a hidden meaning behind all events, and this hidden meaning is serving your own evolution.” – Deepak Chopra

I experienced a “defining moment” today.

Every month the restaurant where I work has a visit from a “Secret Shopper” who goes through the Drive-thru and comes in to order at the counter. Our store got a 98.5% rating on this week’s visit. I got 100% on all areas. We beat our last score by 0.5%! The owner had promised to double the bonus to all crew who contributed to the score – so we were looking forward to receiving $20 each. When I walked into the office today at the end of my shift I was handed $10 and a sheet to sign by the general manager.

Each of us was given the joy of life.  Appreciate it, all of it, and if you want more health and wealth in yours, appreciate what you have and focus on it joyfully. – Grandmother Pa’Ris’Ha

Through my association with my spiritual mentor and Elder Grandmother Pa’Ris’Ha, I’ve learned to practice appreciation for all that comes my way – especially if it’s something I would like to have more of! So I appreciate the bonus bucks.

But I had to dialog with myself and say,”Okay, Deb, I appreciate the ten dollars” -because I had set up an expectation and then felt “let down.”

As I sat in the restaurant for a bit before leaving, I felt a weird sort of stillness come over me. That stillness I experienced was devoid of any of the usual “yammer” that can accompany some of my moments of dissatisfaction. It was just “still.” I wish I could adequately put it into words – that feeling when all the identities that we might assume from influences in our lives are nowhere to be seen or heard. There was just a stillness.

Once I got back to my apartment I sat in silence for a little while longer. It wasn’t a judgmental silence – it was just a sort of void. Like Space.

This wasn’t about ten dollars, but about the need to move on in my life. It was about embracing a personal business that has been making up the difference between what I used to earn and what’s coming now as the result of everyone’s hours getting cut back to part-time status. It was also about remembering who I am and what I’m really here to do and embracing that and getting on with it.

In 12-Step meetings we hear “God is doing for me what I couldn’t/wouldn’t do for myself.” But if, as Children of God, which we are, God lives, breathes, moves and has His/Her/Its Being in and through us – who’s doing the “doing?”

My “defining moment” was really about realizing that I was expecting more from something than it’s able to deliver and being willing to let that go without judgment. It’s about getting clear as to what I need to do to deliver myself to my planned destination and getting on with it – with joy.

I moved into action and started through my plan for the day. I began my prospecting calls – and what do you know? I actually connected with a very energetic and interested person as the result of a mis-dial!

Coincidence?

Know what she said to me when I told her why I was calling? “God made you call my phone.”

So out of the “stillness” I moved into action and from that resulted an outcome that took me closer to a path of self-determination rather than limitation imposed by something outside myself.

I didn’t end up getting that sale. But I made the presentation. I also offered to help her with an ad to promote her business on Craig’s List, after she remarked that she didn’t have a computer or internet access. So I got to be of service.

It’s been a good day. I am ever so grateful to the example of Grandmother Pa’Ris’Ha who has demonstrated over and over again the benefits of living in Cause and cultivating the Beauty Way.

I have studied global religious and Spirituality I found they all bring us the message that to experience the union with the God within liberates us from the pain of ignorance, and identifying with suffering ego. Once this occurs it delivers us in to peaceful awareness of the eternal presence that resides within us. Children of God grow up to be who? – Grandmother Pa’Ris’Ha

©2011 Deborah Adler. All rights reserved. (NOTE: All quotes remain the sole property of the original authors.)

Bookmark and Share

Stumble It!

Leave a Reply

