Smelling the Flowers, Waiting for the Sunrise

20 Jan

“We feel happy when we have good intentions, and it’s a key to our days successes, but much too often all the great intentions get lost in the mind-child’s chatter and pathways* of what some call reality or necessities of living, while we do not catch or see that Creator is with us and talking to us in one thousand beautiful things!! Ahh…Beloveds so much slips away unnoticed….” -Grandmother Pa’Ris’Ha

One of the perks of starting my job at 6 AM every day is that I am perfectly in place to catch the sunrise each morning. The counter that I work from faces East and I eagerly watch as the sky announces the upcoming arrival of the Sun, or “Nunda of the Day,” in the traditional language of my Elder, Grandmother Pa’Ris’Ha.

Always I enjoy the unique and ever-changing picture before me resplendent with rose and pink hues, orange and purple morphing to deep-blue to light-blue of the daylit sky.  Often magenta makes a fleeting appearance and I am in awe of the beauty that unfolds before me.

I have to catch all that in between waiting on customers, but I manage and when the sun, herself, first clears the horizon, I greet her in the traditional chant I have learned.  “Hello, Nunda,” I say to her, and smile.

It’s a private ritual I have, others don’t really notice because I look like I’m checking the lobby or getting supplies. But I savor those fleeting moments of Nunda’s arrival. As I have learned from my association with Grandmother Pa’Ris’Ha,

Each Day is a Gift of a New Beginning.

Here is a way that Grandmother has shared to begin the day and maximize our awareness of the many gifts God-Creator-the Source send us every single day.  We live surrounded by beauty and miracles…they are ours for the mere acknowledgement!

“Begin your day with a focused moment, sit up as you awaken and think of four things that you feel grateful for, two people you appreciate in your life, and speak aloud good of yourself……

“Say, ‘May my eyes see one thousand beautiful things, and my hands touch one hundred sacred things! ‘

“Now the brain is in flow with intent. Repeat throughout the day as often as needed in celebration of recognition and having an “Aha!” moment when you did catch the meaningful things of your day!

“Want success? Just count the good things of each day and give grateful acknowledgement that you have allowed it to be part of your day!” – Grandmother Pa’Ris’Ha

In the rooms of 12-Step recovery we speak of an “Attitude of Gratitude.” This is more than just another one of those hokey slogans. It’s a way of life. When we focus on the miracle of life happening around us, every breath, every second becomes the doorway to adventure. We open ourselves to awareness of being part of a much larger picture. We move beyond “me” to “We.” We become aware of being a Part of God-Creator-the Source rather than “apart from.”

We are of The Source. Acknowledging the beauty around us helps to keep us in touch with that fact.

“The more you praise and celebrate your life, the more there is in life to celebrate.” – Oprah Winfrey

©2011 Deborah Adler. All rights reserved. (NOTE: All quotes remain the sole property of the original authors.)

Bookmark and Share

Stumble It!

Leave a Reply

