Living in the Now

24 Jan

Living in the Now means seizing every moment and being aware of the opportunities for connections and service.

My Father died in 1997. I had come home to be with him for his final months. We both knew I had returned to “spend the rest of his life” with him. The night before he died, there had been an awkward moment between us, very minor, but nevertheless it took place right before he and I both retired for the night.  On my way to the bathroom, I passed by his room as he was preparing to go to bed. He was seated on his bed, back to the doorway, no clothes on. I felt an overwhelming desire to say “I love you, Dad” from where I stood, but hesitated and then quietly went on my way, choosing not to “disturb” him.

That was my last chance. He died of congestive heart failure in the middle of the night.

When I look back on that night, I have come to realize that I was in observance of a Being who was contemplating its need to move on. Perhaps that was what was behind my instinct to say “good-bye.” I sensed there was something, but neglected to act on it.

I can’t change that sequence of events today. Grandmother Pa’Ris’Ha has written:

“When you play with processes and continue to relive old wounds and habits, what is the value to it?  Is this intelligent?…STOP…Stop this waste of your sacred being.”

Today I use the experience to remind me of the importance of connecting with people when I am given the opportunity. Fact is I’m given the opportunity every single day over and over again. We all are. People pass us on the streets or walk into our space and instead of being oblivious to them we can treat them as an opportunity to greet God-Creator-The Source looking back at us.

It’s really important to take every opportunity we are given to let someone know they are a significant part of our life. “I appreciate you” is especially powerful. “I love you” even more so.

It’s so easy to become all caught up in our own little pre-occupations, like the lady who recently fell into a fountain at a mall while texting on her phone! That’s an extreme example, but it’s right on.

When I stay aware of my surroundings and tuned in to the people around me, I have an opportunity to enrich my life by learning from another, or helping someone.

At the end of the day, there is a sense of loneliness that can prevail if I’ve not reached out to others. But when I make it a priority to open myself to not only receive from those around me but more importantly I have looked for ways to give – to express appreciation, or find a way to assist someone or lighten their day – then there is a sense of Oneness that comes. That’s a good feeling. It’s one we can all benefit from.

“The more boundless your vision, the more real you are.”
— Deepak Chopra

©2011 Deborah Adler. All rights reserved. (NOTE: All quotes remain the sole property of the original authors.)

Bookmark and Share

Stumble It!

One Response to “Living in the Now”

Leave a Reply

