Taking Care of Business and Other Life Lessons

25 Jan

Today was a day of taking care of necessities – cashing a paycheck, paying the rent, the water bill, making sure that certain payments were released to ensure continuation of services necessary to the operation of my business. All went perfectly executed as I had mapped it out the night before, down to the penny.  This has become something of an every-other-week ritual, including using the city’s mass transit system to get to the various locations for the various steps involved.

At the end of it all, I had to remind myself that I had accomplished being responsible and express gratitude for being able to do so, because I was initially focused on the fact that I had used up the entire paycheck. I had allowed myself to get caught up in the illusion of limited supply and the fear of “never enough.”

I talk to myself, especially when I’m trying to make a change in behavior. Hearing the voice aloud seems to help me make the correction more effectively. It’s the voice of the Observer – the One who can watch independent of the emotion and habitual patterns and render a non-judgmental commentary.

“Okay, Deb – you just took care of another month’s obligations. That’s a good thing! Be grateful – you have a roof over your head, and heat and lights. It’s all good.

Then I came back to my place and read an email I received as a response to my blog post yesterday about taking time to tell people that you appreciate them. My friend took the time to tell me that she had been touched by the post and that she thought of me often and appreciated me.

“Wow,” I thought, “that’s really cool!” So I called her to let her know how much I appreciated her in my life and that she had taken the time out to let me know my post meant something to her.

Sometimes when I read other peoples’ posts, I think “That’s really profound.’ Then I start comparing mine to theirs. Sometimes I think that they are so much more advanced than I am, but then I’ll get feedback that a particular post really hit home for someone because it touched on an issue or emotion they were dealing with at the time.

This goes back to the proverbial “half-full or half-empty glass” story. How we experience life is determined by our perception. Our perception depends upon how we choose to process the information we take in through out senses. Do we experience abundance or lack?

There’s really no “greater” or “lesser” – because we’re all One. Each on of us provides a unique perspective on life. All of us are essential to the Whole.

I saw a great story in my business monthly today – about two shoe salesmen who were sent to a remote village in Africa. At the end of the week, one of them telegraphed to his company “Get me out of here. It’s hopeless. Nobody wears shoes here. ” The other salesman telegraphed “Send more shoes! It’s open territory. Nobody wears shoes here!”

The fear of “never enough” keeps us from realizing abundance and prosperity.

Be thankful for what you have; you’ll end up having more. If you concentrate on what you don’t have, you will never, ever have enough. –Oprah Winfrey

One way to acknowledge the Ever-Abundant Source is through tithing. To give back a tenth of what is received is not just a “church practice.” It’s a Universal Principle.

By giving back a tenth, we open ourselves to receive even more. One of my associates gave a wonderful demonstration years ago as part of our Speakers Team presentations. She divided 100 pennies into two piles – 90 pennies in one pile and ten pennies in the second pile. It provided a powerful visual of how “small” that tenth really is – and that when we are so concerned about missing that tenth, we forget that we’re keeping the 90 percent!

Successful business people, trainers and motivators speak of giving ten percent of your income to charity. It’s the same concept. It’s a form of acknowledgment and expression of gratitude. Generosity begets more of the same. When we are no longer afraid to give away, we open to the flow of energy to come to us.

In the traditional ways of Grandmother Pa’Ris’Ha’s people, the T’saligi, one half is given away in appreciation to The Source. In the instance of crops, it was the best half that was offered back. The people knew there would always be enough because they practiced and understood the Principles of Abundance – of Giveaway and Renew.

Give freely and know we receive in what we give, it’s the only way wealth can come. Forgive your debtors as you are forgiven your debt. Pay promptly if you desire to receive promptly.  If you’re not doing this you are living ahead of your havingness and will never have wealth. Grandmother Pa’Ris’Ha

©2011 Deborah Adler. All rights reserved. (NOTE: All quotes remain the sole property of the original authors.)

Bookmark and Share

Stumble It!

Leave a Reply

