The Next Right Thing

30 Jan

“The third component of the Law of Dharma is service to humanity–to serve your fellow human beings and to ask yourself the questions,” How can I help? How can I help all those that I come into contact with?” When you combine the ability to express your unique talent with
service to humanity, then you make full use of the Law of Dharma.”
— Deepak Chopra

I was in the right place at the right time the other day when I was on my way to the crew break room at work. I had been clocked out for the day and was going to get my coat to leave. The supply truck had arrived and was in process of being unloaded into the basement freezer and supplies area, preventing my entry into the break room where our coats are kept. As I arrived at the bottom of the stairs, two of the crew members were bringing out a third member, who is deaf, from the freezer where he has apparently fallen and hit his head. I looked into his eyes and he was obviously having difficulty focusing and staying upright. As the two men carried his up the stairs, I asked if they had called 911. They responded “no.” Then I said, “You need to call 911.” They responded with “He’ll be alright,” with a macho bravado that was totally inappropriate for the situation at hand.

Once he was sitting in the office, I saw that he was dazed. The General Manager was obviously not going to call the Paramedics to check him out. In that this young man’s mother was a client of mine, I had her phone number, so I called her to advise her of what had happened. She came and called the Paramedics, who eventually took him to the hospital, where he was diagnosed with a concussion.

The mother was very grateful that I had stayed with her son and stayed in touch with her by phone while she was en route to the restaurant. Some employees, including one of the men who tried to minimize the young man’s injury, started their reactionary process. When the policeman arrived (called in by the Paramedics) and asked me questions the man even tried to interrupt me and claim I was lying. The policeman just ignored him.

I’m a “proceduralist.” There are set procedures to follow in any given situation – protocols, if you will. When someone is injured on the job, you call the Paramedics, or take the person to the hospital and then call the closest relative. So I was unprepared for the seeming lack of concern, and almost arrogant neglect of following procedure for such an incident.

I may or may not experience fall-out from this. I really don’t care. But I have come to appreciate in my years of association with my spiritual mentor and Elder, Grandmother Pa’Ris’Ha, is that “silence is compliance.”  When you encounter a “wrong” – if you fail to act to do something about it, you become a part of it.

Each one of us is a significant element in this Universe. Where we are at any given moment and what we do, say and even think has a significant impact on life here on the planet.

We are One. None of us exist in a vacuum or removed from the Whole.

When we “look the other way,” we are allowing ourselves to become numb to what’s happening around us. I’ve witnessed Grandmother Pa’Ris’Ha demonstrate the Principle countless times over the years, “If it comes into my awareness, it’s mine to do.”

Taking action is being involved in life around us. It’s living from a place of caring and compassion. As more of us take the time – and sometimes the risk – to get involved and help each other – we elevate the human condition as a whole. We heal the illusion of “separation” and practice “Wholeness of Being.”

“We must be the guardians we were sent to be, and live and have our Being as the accumulation of all Creation, and the chosen, the Humans. Peace is up to us, we are the generation that must make the difference now. Let us synergize and align our focus to be all that we can be. Let us understand the meaning…’If it is going to be, it begins with me’…” –Pa’Ris’Ha Taylor

©2011 Deborah Adler. All rights reserved. (NOTE: All quotes remain the sole property of the original authors.)

Bookmark and Share

Stumble It!

Leave a Reply

