The Easter Hat

23 Apr

“Family and friends are hidden treasures, seek them and enjoy their riches” –Dalai Lama

When I was in kindergarten I made an Easter Hat for my Mom. Of course, it was one of those wonderful paper-plate and crepe paper specials the likes of which can only come from a 5 or 6 year old. The materials may be simple, but in the eyes of the child, it is a beautiful creation made with love!

I rode the bus home, but on this particular day I happened to forget to tell the Driver to stop in front of my house. So at the corner of Dartmouth and Coolidge, he stopped and looked back at me. Reluctantly I got out, even though the corner where he opened the door to  was still not planted with any grass seed, so it was all mud.

The crepe paper ties slid down off the top of the hat and got muddied as I cried and walked my way back to my house in the middle of the block. As my Mom opened the door I was totally in tears because her beautiful Easter Hat Surprise was ruined.

She made a big fuss over it anyway, and tried to comfort me. I was as much upset over having missed my stop as having the walk in the mud, etc. Her soothing, loving voice caressed me and she took the Easter Hat into the kitchen.

With the kind of care that only a Mother can manage, she took a paper towel and wet it and squeezed the excess moisture out of it and then gently brushed the mud away from the crepe paper, leaving it intact. Considering how fragile crepe paper is – that was quite a fete!

With one of those “There – that’s all better now” proclamations only a Mother can pull off in spite of any diversity, she showed me the Easter Hat sparkling once again. She placed it on the dining room table to dry off and assured me it would be fine.

We didn’t really celebrate Easter in my house – at least not the Holy Day. Due to a mixed religious marriage and issues from my Dad’s side of the family, we didn’t really have religious observances. But Christmas was an annual journey to my Mom’s relatives in Easton, PA, where we spent the week celebrating with them, and Easter was a special day in our house where I got the traditional Easter Basket laden with candy and Mom, Dad and I all gave presents to each other.  We also ate off the “special dishes” at the dining room table, complete with linen tablecloth, with NO TV on. Beside each of our plates was a small “special occasion” wine glass with Manischewitz in it. This was the sole occasion of the year where wine was served. It was sort of our Springtime Christmas.

One Easter, much to my Dad’s chagrin, I got a live baby chick from our favorite pet store! (A surprise engineered by my Mom and me). Since my Mother had raised Bantam chickens as a girl, she helped me raise him – but that’s another story!

Happy Easter to all who celebrate it.

May the Holiday be a reminder to us of a Holy Observance of One who came to deliver a message of Love. My spiritual mentor and Elder, Grandmother Pa’Ris’Ha has often shared that Jesus is to the Heart what Buddha is to the Mind. Christhood and Buddha-hood together represent wholeness. May we all strive to be whole!  -Deborah Adler

Have a wonder-filled day and allow there to be much to be thankful for in your day. Touch others lives today in a service that will reward you and them in a good and helpful way. Harm no one and let truth be your solid ground. Create blessings in your life, live as God is!” –Grandmother Pa’Ris’Ha (A Seasonal Wonder!)*

© Copyright 2007 Parisha Online. All Rights Reserved.

DISCLAIMER: All the opinions expressed in any articles, blog posts and Internet content written by me are my own and do not reflect the opinions or beliefs of any individuals or organizations with whom I associate.

©2011 Deborah Adler. All rights reserved. (NOTE: ALL quotes and/or materials from other authors or sources remain the sole property of the original authors/source.)

Bookmark and Share

Stumble It!

Leave a Reply

