May 21st 2011 – To What End?

20 May

“Understand that the right to choose your own path is a sacred privilege. Use it. Dwell in possibility.” – Oprah Winfrey

According to some people, the world is supposed to end this Saturday, May 21st. As soon as I heard that, I realized that I was scheduled to work at the restaurant. My first thought was of my co-workers. “These are not the people I would want to die with,” I realized.

But then most of us don’t get to pick and choose our company for the “final event.” I choose to think that there’s a brighter message to be discerned here.

Perhaps the value of these periodic “doomsday” proclamations is that they get some of us to thinking about our lives in terms of how we live, what have we accomplished, are we on the right track, etc.

When you live each day as a complete life, as I have observed of the one I know as spiritual mentor and Elder, Grandmother Pa’Ris’Ha, there is a time for such self- evaluation within each 24-hour period. Some days I achieve that better than others.

I love that I have found a parallel to 12-Step practices in continuing to take personal inventory.  Occurring later in the progression of Steps, that practice is also designed to take place on a daily basis.

Living 24 hours as a complete Life, one can make course corrections on a moment-to-moment basis. When we live in self-deception, for whatever reason, the days can turn into years in a heartbeat, and then, as happens to some, there comes a day of epiphany when we realize that our life is not where or what we intended it to be.

According to Grandmother Pa’Ris’Ha, we can turn that around in a moment’s decision.

“When it really makes a difference is when you get real and stop the pretense and determine you and you alone can set the course of your life. We cannot change the past, we can move forward and away from it and its influences.” –from Financial Literacy Series, An Enterprise Ventureby Pa’Ris’Ha Taylor*

If cries of impending doom give us pause to consider whether or not we’re living the life we envisioned for ourselves, then at least there is merit to the speculation. The real question is, if May 21st unfolds as “just another day” – will we take the opportunity to act upon whatever self-examination we may have made, or will we breathe a sigh of relief and put our self-determination of life’s purpose and productivity on hold for just a little while longer?

If I make one significant change this day and build on that, I will have a different life from what I’ve had. With no judgments on where I’ve been and what I’ve done, I can always create a better day than the one before. –Deborah Adler

* © 2004 Parisha Taylor. All rights reserved.

DISCLAIMER: All the opinions expressed in any articles, blog posts and Internet content written by me are my own and do not reflect the opinions or beliefs of any individuals or organizations with whom I associate.

©2011 Deborah Adler. All rights reserved. (NOTE: ALL quotes and/or materials from other authors or sources remain the sole property of the original authors/source.)

Bookmark and Share

Stumble It!

Leave a Reply

